Vangelis Katsoulis


"Para-phrases" were created after the recent opportunity of writing music for Stavros loannou's film "Dancing on Ice". Most of the music was recorded with only two musicians: Andreas Polyzogopoulos and myself. In fact, to make the soundtrack more interesting for our CD audience, who would not have the benefit of the image to help them visualize, we recorded some extra tracks which in the current album are interspersed among the music of the film. These pieces are much freer depictions of the climate of the movie, and not just paraphrases of its musical themes. They are indoctrinated by the feelings and atmosphere that run through it. I would like to thank Andreas Polyzogopoulos for the love and dedication he showed for this work. For his sensitivity and his maturity. I am also grateful to Maria Farantouri for her contribution. Her voice, radiating emotion is the only one I could imagine performing the title song of this film. I would like to also thank Antonis Tsikandilakis, Dimitris Neonakis and Yiannis Iliakis for their contribution with 3 of their own variations on themes of the movie. Also Dimitris Petsetakis for his guest appearance and Sotiris Kakisis for the lyrics.    - Vangelis Katsoulis


1. Contemplation

2. Retrograde

3. Ride in Blue

4. How I Feel

5. Only Ice and Snow

6. First Variation

7. Foreboding

8. Cryptic Sounds

9. Back to the Same

10. Mood Sleepless

11. Night Seriously

12. Second Variation

13. Quiet Just Thoughts

14. Far Away

15. How Can I Know-

16. Heading South

17. Alone

18. Third Variation

​19. Beyond the Bounds



Andreas Polyzogopoulos: Trumpet and Flugelhorn

Vangelis Katsoulis: Piano, synthesizers, keyboards, bass synthesizer, percussion, loops, vocals

Maria Farantouri: Voice (20)

Antonis Tsikandilakis: Piano (6,12,19)

Dimitris Neonakis: Electric guitar (6,12,19)

Yiannis Iliakis: Drums (6,12,14,19)

Dimitris Petsetakis: Electric guitar (2)

Vassilis Rakopoulos: Guitar (20)

All compositions by Vangelis Katsoulis, except 15 by Andreas Polyzogopoulos

Lyrics by Sotiris Kakisis


Recorded by Vangelis Katsoulis at Spectrum Recording Studio

Mastered by Vangelis Katsoulis at Spectrum Recording Studio

Produced by Subways Music, executive producers Vangelis Katsoulis and Sophocles Sapounas

Cover design by Vangelis Katsoulis

Translations by Steve Jaqvaar